Elder Leaf Skin Cream Works Its Plant Medicine Magic

Abundant Elder berries and leaves

Rich purple berries among the leaves

This week I had a profound experience about the power of plant medicine.  This story starts in the summer when here at the Green Life Farm I harvested the leaves of the elderberry bush in order to make an infused oil.  I made the oil by filling a glass jar with the leaves which I covered  with organic olive oil and left in the sun.  Every day I stirred the mixture and after a week   the oil turned a rich dark green.  I also made infused oils with calendula flowers, rose petals and saint john’s wort.  My plan was to make skin creams and salves from the oils.
I am of a certain age where my skin is starting to show wear and tear especially since I lived outside under the tropical sun for 15 years.  Even here in the north I spend most of my days outside but it is really the dry, inside, conditions of the northern winter months that inspired me to make moisturizing and healing skin creams.

At the end of this summer I noticed I had a solar keratoses the size of a dime on my right temple.   A keratoses  is a small, wartlike growth that appears on exposed parts of  as a result of over exposure to sun over a period of years.  Healers recommend that solar keratoses be removed because of the risk of them turning into skin cancer.  I have been rubbing coconut oil into the keratoses hoping to soften it not really wanting to go the laser surgery route.

Oil capturing the healing properties of the Sun and Elder leaves.

A few days ago I got together with a friend of mine who is a medical MD as well as a homeopathic healer to make the creams and salves from my collection of infused oils.  We made flower water from winter harvested roses, melted beeswax and whipped up the creams.  The elderflower oil turned the cream into a vibrant spring green.  I was cleaning the bowl from our elderleaf cream and took some of the excess cream and massaged it into my keratoses.  I then made a small pea sized ball of the rest and put it aside to use later.

That night before I went to bed, I massaged in some more of the elderflower cream.  In the middle of the night I woke up and unconsciously put my hand to my temple.  I felt the keratoses slide under my fingers.  When I got up in the morning, I looked in the mirror and saw that the keratoses was gone!  It had sloughed off during the night.

I think about how the majority of people would think they have no other option than to go under the knife or laser to remove a keratoses. I think about how I am blessed to be on this land with healing forces all around me and how grateful I am to those people who are passing on plant knowledge to those of us with ears to hear.

About thegreenlifefarm

The Green Life Farm welcomes people who are on a path toward sustainability, increased environmental consciousness and mindfulness. We are 80% food self sufficient, off the grid for lighting, have reduced our wastes by 90% and have become more and more producers instead of consumers. The Green Life Farm is a place to meet kindred spirits and experience how it could be to reconnect with people and nature. Our farm is always open to visitors interested in alternative energy, living, thinking, building, husbandry, forestry, cooking and farming. In summer, our place is open to campers. Our names are: Bonnie and Sylvain. Calling 902-665-2084 is best because we are not online, thegreenlifefarm@gmail.com, every day. You are welcome to bring your pet. Be ready to use an outhouse! All visits include harvesting (even in winter), preparing and sharing a meal…and good discussions
This entry was posted in Plant Medicine and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Elder Leaf Skin Cream Works Its Plant Medicine Magic

  1. Pingback: Common And Powerful Healing Plants You Can Find In Your Back Garden | True Activist

  2. Pingback: Common And Powerful Healing Plants You Can Find In Your Back Garden | From the Trenches World Report

Leave a Reply

